Prof. Dr. Katja Schmidtpott



  • Dean of the Faculty of East Asian Studies | Ruhr University Bochum
  • Professor of Japanese History |  Ruhr University Bochum

Prof. Dr. Markus Taube


  • Director In-East | University of Duisburg-Essen
  • Chair for East Asian Economic Studies | University of Duisburg-Essen


Prof. Dr. Christine Moll-Murata

Deputy Co-Director

  • Chair of the Department for History of China | Ruhr-University Bochum



Prof. Dr. Dr. Nele Noesselt

Deputy Co-Director


    • Chair for Political Science with a special focus on East Asia / China | University of Duisburg-Essen
    • Speaker AREA Ruhr Doctoral Programme

Andrea Halbmeyer, M.A.

Non-voting member

  • Director of the Dean’s Office | Ruhr-University Bochum

Helmut Demes,

Non-voting member

  • Executive Director IN-EAST | University of Duisburg-Essen

Marc Paschke

Student Representative

An Huy Tran

Deputy Student Representative